Our Nursery School curriculum is based upon the Early Years Foundation Stage.  (EYFS). Targets are set internally for each class whereby the children aim to reach particular goals before they move on to either the next class or their future schools. Children will develop ‘at their own pace’ and each child’s development is closely monitored and the curriculum is applied accordingly.

          Early Years Foundation Stage

The overarching principals of the EYFS are:

• Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

• Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

• Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their learning responds to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between teachers and parents and or carers

• Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in the early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities

The areas of learning and development are separated into the following specific areas:

• Communication and Language

• Physical Development

• Personal, Social & Emotional Development

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding of the World

• Expressive Arts and Designs

Further information regarding the EYFS can be found at www.education.gov.uk